Vesuvius Baptist Church
The church at Vesuvius was first organized in 1870 as the South Bottom Baptist Church. When it disbanded in 1876, some of its 76 members stayed to hold union Sunday School in an old school house.
Later, they built a house of worship. And on October 4, 1891, with 14 charter members, they organized as Vesuvius Baptist Church. Located on Route 56 on the Rockbridge-Augusta County line, the church was on a field with Greenville from 1894 until 1931, and with Marlbrook and Mt. Paran from 1931 until 1943.
A somewhat unique custom at the Vesuvius church was to hold Sunday School only in the months from April through September, traditionally closing with a picnic in the fall. A layman's movement was organized in the church, which began with prayer meetings open only to men. On September 29, 1991, just four days short of the 100th anniversary of its founding, Vesuvius Baptist Church held a rededication of its church
sanctuary and educational building, rebuilt after having been destroyed by arsonic fire on May 8, 1990. Vesuvius reminds us that a building may be
destroyed by fire, but not a church. Membership today is higher than it has ever been--320.